Chasing & Waiting

Do you ever feel as if you are continually chasing God, or running in circle to find him or the truth? Well, you are not alone. I have felt and feel this way a lot, and we shouldn’t be spending all of our time chasing him. We should be following him. We get so caught up in the fact that we want to feel his presence or want to hear him and when we don’t, we run in circles looking for the God or the truth. We wonder why he isn’t there or talking to me? Does he still love me? Does he even care? Is he just watching me and not answering? Is he even real? What am I doing wrong? We just want to feel him; we want the assurance that he is actually there and real. We doubt, worry, and get concerned over the fact that we can’t feel him. While friends continue to grow in their relationship with him, we are in a stand still relationship; we are waiting.

If you need community service hours and you don’t have a community activity to get those hours, what do you do? Do you just sit on your couch waiting for those hours or do you go out and do them? You go and do them! How else would you get the hours? This is what its like when you wait for God. When you what to feel him. Bringing glory to God doesn’t happen by waiting to feel differently about it. I am still struggling with doubt. I can’t tell you how many times I pray to feel him, but sitting their and just  praying won’t help. We have to get out and serve him, follow him, and praise him. Instead of waiting and chasing, we should be doing and following.

1As the deer longs for streams of water,
so I long for you, O God.
2I thirst for God, the living God.
When can I go and stand before him?
3Day and night I have only tears for food,
while my enemies continually taunt me, saying,
“Where is this God of yours?”
I know this verse is a little off track from this post, but it talks about longing for God. If we are chasing him, then we are longing him. But, we are trying to catch up with God instead or following him. We just need to go. What I want you to get out of this post is Stop chasing God.
(As I continually blog about this topic, I want you to know that we all doubt, we all chase, we all long for him. I am currently reading, Chasing God by: Angie Smith, and I goes over this topic, obviously, throughout the book.  It is a great read if you feel as if you are chasing God.)
Author: Emily Blair

avid thinker. INFJ. sushi enthusiast. opinionated. outspoken. strong believer in women's education. old soul. follower of Christ.

1 thought on “Chasing & Waiting”

Leave a Reply

