Holiday Report

Technically speaking, we have one day of December left, better yet-2016. Thus, I have decided to do my monthly/seasonal favorites now! This holiday season went by very quickly. I didn’t get out of school until the 21st of December, so that may be a contributor to my problem. But regardless, it was such a lovely season and reflection and rest. I am enjoying taking a break from my chaotic schedule and getting to relax a bit. Anyways, let us get on with it…

Currently this December:

Reading: Half the Sky by Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn- this is such an excellent read that really shows you the inside of human trafficking and women oppression worldwide and how simple education and encouragement can fix it.

Watching:

Live TV Timeless, This is Us, Speechless

Netflix & etc.- Call the Midwife, Bones, Downton Abbey

(I am watching way to many shows right now, oops.)

Cooking: I recently made these super tasty Linzer Cookies for Christmas Eve and they were a hit. Recipe in link.

Eating: I have recently discovered the magic of  banana “ice cream”, has the consistency of frozen yogurt but healthier!


My recipe: 

  • 1 frozen banana
  • frozen yogurt (optional)
  • milk taste or consistency ( I use Coconut/Almond milk)
  • Chocolate syrup (optional)
  1. Blend all ingredients in a blender and occasionally add more milk depending on how you want it to taste or feel.
  2. Serve in bowl and garnish with toppings!

Loving: I am in love with White Barn‘s Winter candle, sold at Bath & Body Works. It smells like what a Texan would expect winter to smell like somewhere where it actually gets below 40 on a daily basis. (Sadly, our Texas winter has been as cold as 17 degrees and as warm as 78. TEXAS MAKE UP YOUR MIND!)

img_0956img_0984Dreaming: Not quite sure if this is supposed to be meant in a literal sense or more of a future sense, but whatever. I am dreaming of 2017 summer. I am going to Munich this summer on a mission trip, I am super excited, so please keep that in your prayers. However, there is one thing that I have been dreaming about for a while now- Hamilton tickets. I can see myself buying the Hamilton Chicago tickets and booking flights because ladies and gents I am going make this dream come true! Some how I will come up with the money, I just need a game plan.

Feeling: Ooh, this is a hard one; I have had such a variety of feelings lately. My family and I have recently been hit with major change. I  initially handled it better, I felt a lot of guilt & weariness but also happiness & gratefulness . I was drained and a little out of sorts, it was all so new. Now, I just have frustration and unsureness but I also have moments of love & joy. I am not quite sure what I think about the situation but all I know is that God gave us this because he knew we could do it and I have to trust in him. God has given me more joy, mercy, and grace through this than I usually have, which is such a blessing. Overall, I am unsure but I do know that he is preparing me for something further down the road and that I must trust him.

Listening: Same old, same old. I am still jammin’ out to Hamilton and Regina Spektor.

Celebrating: Well, this month I am celebrating rest and time with family. Like I stated previously, there has been a change in the Henry household, so I now cherish any moment of mother-daughter and father-daughter time I can attain. I also celebrate this new change and the joy it has brought to a certain little person, I celebrate that he is safe. I am also celebrating the birth of our Savior and the fact that he stooped so low, gave up all power, to become a vulnerable little baby. Pretty crazy that he loves us that much.

Going: Unfortunately, I am not going anywhere this December. 😦

Doing: Well, since I now have back the 9 hours I spend at school I have had plenty of free time. I tend to spend time with friends, watch movies/TV, go to fun places, shop, and overall just make the most of my break.

Well, that’s it for my December favorites. I will be posting probably agin in the next few days to reminisce on 2016, but until then Happy New Years!

 

Author: Emily Blair

avid thinker. INFJ. sushi enthusiast. opinionated. outspoken. strong believer in women's education. old soul. follower of Christ.

Leave a Reply

